OU Libraries
OU Libraries
OU Libraries:
Open 24 Hours
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office:
Open 8am - 4:30pm

Hours | Location

Medical Databases

AccessMedicine

This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.

Click for more information
AccessMedicine - Case Files

McGraw Hill's best-selling book series in online interactive format. This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.

Click for more information
AccessMedicine HemOnc Collection

Collection of continuously updated electronic books in hematology and oncology, including Williams Hematology and The Basic Science of Oncology. Also includes images, calculators, and self-assessment study tools.

Click for more information
AccessMedicine Neurology Collection

Collection of electronic books in neurology and the neurosciences, including Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. Also includes images, videos, and self-assessment study tools.


Click for more information
AccessPediatrics

This is a collection of 21 full-text pediatric specialty and sub-specialty textbooks from McGraw-Hill, including Rudolph's Pediatrics. AccessPediatrics also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information and self-assessment tools.

Click for more information
AccessPhysiotherapy

Collection of full-text books, multi-media and study aids from McGraw-Hill for physical therapists and other health care providers. Includes "Anatomy and Physiology Revealed."

Click for more information
AccessSurgery

This is a collection of 21 full-text surgical specialty and sub-specialty textbooks and atlases from McGraw-Hill, including Schwartz's Principles of Surgery and Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations. AccessSurgery also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information and self-assessment tools.

Click for more information
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy

Three-dimensional videos of expertly dissected human anatomic specimens.

Click for more information
Alt-Health Watch

Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness are included here. Many articles are available full-text. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
AMA Manual of Style Online

AMA Manual of Style is a dynamic online resource and the unsurpassed authority on medical and scientific writing and editing.  This online verion offers the full text of the 10th edition with extensive search and browse options, policy updates made in real time, an SI conversion calculator, learning and training resources, monthly commentary, and much more!

Click for more information
Anatomy.TV

Interactive, 3-D anatomy resource. Rotate, add or remove layers to learn more about anatomical structures. Use the case studies and the test function to enhance learning.

Click for more information
Bates' Visual Guide

Streaming videos that accompany the textbook, Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.

Click for more information
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present
How to Export to Refworks

Click for more information
Clinical Pharmacology

A comprehensive drug database used by over 2,000 hospitals, Clinical Pharmacology contains up to date, detailed information on thousands of drugs. Its advanced features allows you to run reports on interactions, search by indication and contraindication, check IV compatibility, and print patient infomation materials.

Click for more information
ClinicalKey

Medical and surgical content from Elsevier, including more than 900 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. To access the PDF, please log in or register for a free account with your institutional subscription.

Click for more information
Cochrane Library

This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.   How to export to Refworks.

Click for more information
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)

DARE is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK and evaluates systematic reviews in the field of healthcare and medicine. A summary of the review and critical commentary are written by experts in the topic area and in systematic reviews as a research method.

Click for more information
DynaMed Plus

Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. DynaMed Plus is a major upgrade to the DynaMed system and includes an improved search interface, thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.

Click for more information
EMBase

Comprehensive coverage of the preclinical, medical and pharmacological sciences. Strong in the European literature, EMBase includes 2,000 not currently covered by Medline.

Click for more information
ERIC

This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
Essential Science Indicators


Click for more information
Exam Master Online

Test preparation for Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 3. Includes thousands of practice questions in the disciplines and organ systems covered by the USMLE.

Click for more information
First Aid eBookLibrary

Collection of medical ebooks from the publisher McGraw Hill in the popular First Aid series. Includes First Aid for the USMLE.

Click for more information
GenderWatch

Database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas - including health and wellness. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.

Click for more information
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)

Provides access to article citations containing information on measurement instruments ( questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.

Click for more information
Health and Wellness Resource Center

Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

Click for more information
Health Reference Center Academic

Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
Henry Stewart Talks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection

A collection of online lectures, many by leading experts in their fields. It includes more than 1,500 presentations on biochemistry; cancer, cell biology; diseases, disorders & treatments; drug discovery; genetics; immunology; methods; microbiology & virology; neurobiology; and pharmaceutical science. This new resource can be used in the classroom setting, in the lab, for research, as part of the curriculum, as a study or reference tool for students, or for personal interest.

Click for more information
IMAIOS (e-Anatomy)

e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.

Click for more information
JAMA Evidence

JAMAevidence is an instructional resource from the American Medical Association covering the fundamental concepts of evidence-based medicine (EBM). Includes downloadable PowerPoint slide sets for teaching, as well and the full electronic text of the book, Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice by Gordon Guyatt. Note: Limited to 2 concurrent users.

Click for more information
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Note: Upgraded to Incites Journal Citation Reports January 2015

Provides citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field and the highest impact journals in a field. The OU community has access to the Science edition and the Social Sciences edition of JCR.

Click for more information
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

Provides citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field and the highest impact journals in a field. The OU community has access to the Science edition and the Social Sciences edition of JCR.

Click for more information
LactMed

LactMed is one of several databases housed within the Toxicology Data Network (ToxNet) from the National Library of Medicine. It provides drug safety information for breastfeeding mothers and includes concise, plain language summaries, potential effects on infants & mothers, and alterative drugs recommendations.
 

Click for more information
LWW Health Library - Clerkship

Collection of key texts and review books in each of the core clerkship rotations - Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery. Also contains reveiw materials for USMLE Step 2 and 3. Search a specific book, within a clerkship collection, or across the entire database.

Click for more information
LWW Health Library - Medical Education

Collection of more than 40 electronic textbooks in the basic medical sciences, including anatomy, biochemistry, embryology, genetics, histology, immunology, neuroscience, pharmacology and physiology. Provides online access to the popular "Bate's Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking."

Click for more information
LWW Health Library - Oncology

Collection of more than 20 important ebooks on oncology topics. Includes the highly regarded, Devita's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology, now in its 10th edition.

Click for more information
Medline via Web of Science

MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.

Click for more information
Micromedex

Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, thereapuetic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.

Click for more information
Natural Medicines

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database) is a peer-reviewed, authoritative source for information on complementary and integrative therapies.  It is composed of 7 distinct databases:  Food, Herbs Supplements, Health & Wellness, Sports Medicine, Comparative Effectiveness, Manufacturers, Commercial Products, and Medical Conditions, that can be searched collectively or individually. The Interaction and Effectiveness Checker tools are particularly helpful.

Click for more information
Netter Reference

Anatomical images from Netter's "Green Books," Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Click for more information
NIH Senior Health

NIH Senior Health includes plain language health and wellness information for older populations from the National Institutes of Health. The site features summaries, videos, a Trainer's Toolkit for teaching senior to search for online health information, and tools in support of those with impaired vision, color-blindness, and the blind.

Click for more information
Northern Light Life Sciences Conference Abstracts

Information on abstracts and posters from 1,600 life sciences industry conferences from 2010-present. Excellent source of late-breaking information as topics are often covered here long before being published in journals.

Click for more information
OvidSP

Collection of hundreds of full-text ebooks and journals from Lippincott Williams and Wilkins. Includes medicine, health sciences and nursing. Also provides access to MEDLINE.

Click for more information
PsycARTICLES

Here you'll find full-text articles from many journals published by the American Psychological Association,  the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. PsycARTICLES is a subset of PsycINFO, so if you need more information, go to PsycINFO. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
PsychiatryOnline

Full-text access to books, jounals and guidelines from the American Psyciatric Association, including the DSM-5.

Click for more information
PsycINFO

Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
PsycTESTS

A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

Click for more information
PubMed (MEDLINE)

The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
PubMed Central

The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles.

Click for more information
PubMed Health

From the National Library of Medicine, PubMed Health specializes in clinical effectivess research and indexes systematic reviews from a number of sources, including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, PubMed, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), and more! Results can be limited by audience level and original source.

Click for more information
R2 Digital Library

Collection of ebooks in the medical and health sciences.

Click for more information
Science Citation Index Expanded

Index coverage of journal literature in the sciences published from 1900-current. An excellent resource for determining who has cited a specific article. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
Science Direct

Full-text journals published by Elsevier; coverage is generally from 1995-present. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.

Click for more information
Scriver's OMMBID

Essential resource for comprehensive coverage of the role of genes and genetic mechanisms in human disease. Includes detailed information on the genetic variation as well as clinical descriptions and treatment.

Click for more information
SPORTDiscus

Topics include physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport psychology, occupational health & therapy, and public health. Includes international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, 1800 to the present. How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable collection of electronic resources for healthcare professionals.

Click for more information
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest) Note: Historical statistical abstracts available 1878-1969

The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both in print and on the Web. Visit the Statistical Abstract Guide for more information on using this resource.

Click for more information
Thieme E-Book Library

Collection of 73 textbooks and color atlases in anatomy, medicine, and the life sciences. Authorized users can read the books online or download them to their personal devices.

Click for more information
Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy

Access to images for download, manipulation, or live presentation.

Click for more information
TRIP

A  free clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Simultaneously searches several evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.

Click for more information
UpToDate

A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Remote access limited to enrolled students and OU-based faculty.

Click for more information
USMLE Easy

Test preparation for Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 3. Includes thousands of practice questions in the disciplines and organ systems covered by the USMLE.

Click for more information
Web of Science

Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

Click for more information
Winking Skull Pro

Images from the Gilroy, Thieme Atlas of Anatomy in addition to clinical MRI and CT radiographs. Test your knowledge of anatomy by removing the labels and filling them in yourself. Register for an account while on campus for access to the full site and to track your progress.

Click for more information


 

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments |

Library: Open 24 Hours
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Med Lib Office: Open 8am - 4:30pm

Hours | Location